The Bavaria we see today is a multi-tribal state, binding the Bavarians together with the Swabians and Franks. The Bavarians’ lands are some of the most beautiful in Europe, having been spared centuries of European conflict.

The heart of Bavaria is centered on the four ancient capitals of the Bavarian state: Munich, Landshut, Ingolstadt, and Straubing. These divisions of Bavaria reflect the politics of a bygone age, the great Bavarian civil war of the 15th century, and the struggle for the Palatinate.

Select a Region to Explore in Detail

Landshut Parade

Lower Bavaria

Lower Bavaria had a brief moment of glory in the 15th century when it became Southern Germany’s center of the Renaissance. But with its Golden Age quickly over, obscurity has preserved this moment for us. Lower Bavaria is full of beautiful towns and villages, despite war and ravages of industrialization.
Munich Bavaria Market

Upper Bavaria

Upper-Bavaria-Munich would be the penultimate winner of the great Bavarian family wars. Defeating the combined forces of the Palatinate and Lower-Bavaria-Landshut with the aid of the Emperor. The legacy of this victory is evident: Munich is the capital of Bavaria. The history of Bavaria would be written in the splendor of the capital province.
Regensburg Waterfront

Upper Palatinate

The Upper Palatinate changed hands numerous times throughout its history, though never leaving the Wittelsbach domain. Never at any point, though, did the region attain self-rule, and its development remains stunted. Today it is a land of castles, forests, and walled towns. The main sights here are the city of Regensburg and the Danube valley.

Return to the Historical Regions of Europe

Historical Regions

Explore Europe from the perspective of ages past